Technical specification

Design

To design implants, rapid prototype models can be derived from Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) data obtained from the patient’s computed tomography (CT/CBCT) scan.

Technical specification - Design

To design implants, 3D images are derived from DICOM data obtained from the patient’s CT/CBCT scan. When uploading the dataset, the surgeon provides additional information about the case and the desired shape, using designated online forms, GoToMeeting, encrypted uploads or telephone communication. When the scans are securely uploaded via the website, the data set is used to design a rough image of the implant, if applicable by mirroring structures from the unaffected side.

The implant is created following the surgeon’s indications as stated online and making use of graphics tools. A dynamic communication between designers and surgeon guarantees that the preferences of the surgeon are respected before the final design is presented and approved via the website. The virtual design can be subjected to Finite Element Analysis before going into production. Simulation of the forces acting on the implant ascertain that the implant meets the technical standards that are set out. The behaviour of the implant in its actual environment is predicted.

After production, the implant is optically scanned and the point cloud compared to the STL file to assure that the manufactured implant has the same dimensions as the 3D designed implant, with a tolerance dictated by the clinical needs.

e

Spécifications techniques

Conception

Pour concevoir des implants, les images 3D sont dérivées des données DICOM obtenues à partir du scan CT/CBCT du patient.

Technical specification - Design

Pour concevoir des implants, les images 3D sont dérivées des données DICOM obtenues à partir du CT/CBCT scan du patient. Lors du téléchargement du DataSet, le chirurgien fournit les informations supplémentaires sur le cas et la forme souhaitée, à l'aide de formulaires en ligne, GoToMeeting, de téléchargements cryptés ou via communications téléphoniques. Lorsque les scans sont téléchargés en toute sécurité via le site Web, l'ensemble de données est utilisé pour concevoir une image approximative de l'implant, dans la mesure du possible, en reproduisant les structures du côte sain.

L'implant est créé suivant les indications du chirurgien comme indiqué en ligne et en utilisant des outils graphiques. Une communication dynamique entre les concepteurs et le chirurgien garantit que les préférences du chirurgien soient respectées avant que le design final ne soit présenté et approuvé via le site Web. La conception virtuelle peut être soumise à une analyse des éléments finis avant d'entrer en production. Une simulation des forces agissant sur l'implant est faite pour s'assurer que l'implant réponde aux normes techniques préétablies. Le comportement de l'implant dans son environnement réel est prédit.

Après la production, l'implant est scanné optiquement et le ‘point cloud’ est comparé au fichier STL pour s'assurer que l'implant fabriqué a les mêmes dimensions que l'implant 3D, avec une tolérance dictée par les besoins cliniques.

e