Technical specification

Materials

CADskills can deliver a skin patch allergy test, including all used materials, if desired by the surgeon. To order an allergy test, please contact us.

Titanium

Titanium

Our titanium implants are additively manufactured, using the selective laser melting technique. Selective laser melting (SLM) is an additive manufacturing technique using a high-power-density laser to melt and fuse metallic particles. 3D printing makes complete design freedom possible.

Titanium is biocompatible because it has a low electrical conductivity which contributes to the electrochemical oxidation of titanium leading to the formation of a thin passive oxide layer. The oxide layer in turn leads to a high resistance to corrosion. The alloys that are preferred for the fabrication of titanium implants are commercially pure titanium (CP- Ti) and titanium alloy Ti6Al4V (Ti-64). The risk of metallosis is neglectable in comparison with for example CrCo.

The titanium used by CADskills is Ti6Al4V grade 23 ELI, an alpha-beta wrought alloy. ELI stands for “extra low interstitials”. Ti Grade 23 ELI features high strength, low weight ratio and excellent corrosion resistance.

By applying additive manufacturing, porous structures, or scaffold can be embedded in the implant. These porous structures can be tailored to show excellent mechanical properties like those of human bone (Young modulus) and are usually designed to facilitate bone ingrowth.

PEEK

PEEK

PEEK (Poly-ether-ether-ketone) is a synthetic material that has many advantages in cranial repair surgery such as its strength, stiffness, chemical inertness and durability. PEEK is mainly used for cranioplasty, but facial implants in PEEK are an option too.

The polymer is milled, as 3D printing of medically approved PEEK is not an option yet (but soon to be certified). The material can be re-sterilized and reused in the case of failure from infection and is easy to modify intra-operatively using a high-speed burr.

PEEK as a polymer has an extremely low thermoconductivity, when compared to titanium that has already a low thermoconductivity compared to other metals.

CADskills uses a medically certified PEEK, that has a proven quality of the material and the availability of many years of clinical follow-up of patients that underwent for example cranioplasty.

UHMWPE

UHMWPE

CADskills has developed a new GUR material, being a UHMWPE specifically treated to increase wear resistance. The method is undisclosed. The UHMWPE is enriched with vitamin E, being a potent antioxidant. These characteristics make this material especially suited for articulating surfaces.

Cutting guide materials

Cutting guide materials

Our cutting guides are 3D printed in a class 1 biocompatible resin, that is autoclavable. The material is specially developed for printing precise surgical guides and similar devices.

e

Caractéristiques techniques

Les matériaux

Selon les besoins du chirurgien, CADskills peut fournir un test allergique épicutané/patch-test utilisés pour tous les matériaux utilisés. Pour commander un test d'allergie, contactez-nous.

Titane

Titane

Nos implants en titane sont élaborés grâce au procédé de fabrication additive, à l'aide de la technique de fusion laser sélective. La fusion laser sélective (SLM) est une technique de fabrication additive utilisant un laser de haute densité énergétique pour faire fondre et fusionner les particules métalliques entre-elles. L'impression 3D donne la possibilité d’avoir une totale liberté de conception.

Le titane est biocompatible en raison de sa faible conductivité électrique qui contribue à l'oxydation électrochimique du titane menant à la formation d'une fine couche d'oxyde via un processus de passivation. Cette couche d'oxyde  permet finalement une haute résistance à la corrosion. Les alliages qui sont privilégiés pour la fabrication d'implants en titane sont l’alliage en titane pur commercialisé (CP- TI) et l’alliage de titane Ti6Al4V (TI-64). Le risque de métallose est négligeable par rapport à par exemple l’alliage CrCo.

Le titane utilisé par CADskills est le Ti6Al4V grade 23 ELI, un alliage alpha-beta. ELI est synonyme de "éléments interstitiels en très faible concentration". TI Grade 23 ELI  se caractérise par sa robustesse, son faible rapport pondéral et son excellente résistance à la corrosion.

En appliquant le processus de fabrication additive, les structures poreuses ou l'échafaudage peuvent être intégrés/incorporés dans l'implant. Ces structures poreuses peuvent être adaptées pour donner d'excellentes propriétés mécaniques comme celles de l'os humain (modèle de Young) et sont habituellement conçues pour faciliter l’interposition osseuse.

PEEK

PEEK

PEEK (poly-éther-éther-cétone) est un matériau synthétique qui a de nombreux avantages dans la chirurgie de réparation crânienne tels que sa force, sa rigidité, son inertie chimique et sa durabilité. PEEK est principalement utilisé pour la cranioplastie mais les implants faciaux en PEEK sont également utilisés.

Le polymère est moulu, car l'impression 3D de PEEK n’est pas encore médicalement approuvé /homologué/certifié (mais le sera bientôt certifiée). Le matériau peut être restérilisé et réutilisé en cas d’infection et il est facile de le modifier en per-opératoire en utilisant une fraise à grande vitesse.

PEEK comme polymère a une très faible thermoconductibilité par rapport au titane, qui a déjà une faible thermoconductibilité par rapport aux autres métaux.

CADskills utilise du PEEK médicalement certifié, dont la qualité du matériau est éprouvée et qui bénéficie de nombreuses années de suivi clinique de patients ayant subi une cranioplastie par exemple.

UHMWPE

UHMWPE

CADskills a développé un nouveau matériel GUR, un UHMWPE spécifiquement traité pour augmenter la résistance à l'usure. La méthode est tenu secrète. Le UHMWPE est enrichi en vitamine E,équi est un puissant antioxydant. Ces caractéristiques rendent ce matériau particulièrement adapté aux surfaces articulées.

Matériaux de guidage de découpe

Matériaux de guidage de découpe

Nos guides de découpe sont imprimés en 3D dans une résine biocompatible de classe 1 qui peut aller dans l’autoclave. Le matériau est spécialement conçu pour l'impression de guides chirurgicaux précis et de dispositifs similaires.

e